Advanced Search

Double Reed

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Anne Megan
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

I’m just starting out with this system- it’s not so easy! I’m ready to share with anyone who’s interested.

Gary Crumb
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 119

Double reed…??? I played trombone and a tiny little bit on the guitar…not sure I’m familiar with double reeds.

Tom Whittington
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 159

Not much of an oboe guy, xume720? 😆

Okay back on topic… I’m not familiar either, anyone want to give a primer for the rest of us? 🙂

Daniel Nash
    Participant
    • Replies: 22

Not sure what you guys are asking about. I believe this section is for those who use reed knives to make their own double reeds for their instruments – oboes, bassoons, etc. A double reed is a reed having two blades to it, unlike reeds for say a clarinet or saxophone where the reed is a single blade.

EDIT: If what I said above is the case, it might make sense to rename this forum to “Reed Knives” or “Reed Knives – Double Reed Makers” or the like.

~Dan

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

Just to go a bit further,reeds are made from high quality, straight grained cane. Double reeds are as the name indicates, two reeds shaped to fit symmetrically face to face and the ends fastened tightly so the two become one reed so to speak.