Advanced Search

Buck 110 – 2 dot advice…

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Specific Discussion Buck 110 – 2 dot advice…

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Ryan
    Participant
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 21

Fairly newbie here with WES…I’ve searched the database and this forum but came up empty…I have a 1974-1980 series (two dot) Buck 110 folder. The blade has been sharpened what appears to be on a stone by someone even far less experienced than me. It isn’t ruined.

Looking at restoring the blade to its esteemed sharpness for hunting this fall. I’m surmising it should be around a 20 degree???? Yes/no/different?

Also it doesn’t say on the blade but I surmise Buck used 440C back in the day…so that means a tough job ahead of me but once finished should hold an edge for a while…thoughts, insight, counterpoint, cheap shots? Anyone, anyone – Bueller…

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi Robert,

A 20/20 edge on your buck sounds fine to me. Give it a start from there. You can also increase the angles from there. You’ll just need to take some time to restore the edge if it was ruined. Don’t know what that means, but if it means microchips and so on, please take your time to work those out. I guess you’ll spend quite some time on you 100/200 stones or (if it’s really bad) the 50/80’s.

440C should not be a particularly hard job, since it’s not a particularly hard steel. Just make sure your angles are not too low. (As said, start with 20 degrees, but if that’s too low, increase it to 25 or so.)

Success! And please keep us posted on you experiences!

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Ryan
    Participant
    • Topics: 13
    • Replies: 21

Roger that Mark. Thanks for the prompt reply. 20/20 seemed safe to me. No microchips. It was fairly evenly sharpened by hand prior to my ownership.

Thanks!

Ryan

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095