Advanced Search

Ballpark expected Bess scores for different stones

Recent Forums Main Forum Ballpark expected Bess scores for different stones

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    JackStraw
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

I am new to the WE, just purchased a Pro 130 and am very much in the learning phase. I have a Edge On Up tester and am curious to know if there is an expected level of sharpness for any given stone.  I understand that the bevel angle and the steel will affect the score but it seems like there can be some sort of expected Bess score range for any given stone (assuming that there was proper grit progression getting to the tested stone,  ie. not just using a 3K stone on a dull blade then testing it).  I am practicing on thrift store knives,  so cheap metal and I can put whatever angle on them I desire.  But just as a starting point, and because I have one, what should I realistically expect to achieve sharpening my Henkels at 18 degrees and finishing with either a 600 grit, 1000 grit, 1500/2000,3K (those are the stones I currently have). Then maybe finishing with 4/2 leather strop?

If I sharpen a friend’s Wustof all purpose kitchen knife, what is a proper Bess score that should I shoot for before I return it to them?

I hope that this isn’t so loaded with variables as to make it a pointless discussion. If is, just say so! I am just looking for some number ranges to let me know if I am getting it right, and when it is time to move to the next stone. Any tips on getting repeatable Bess scores would be appreciated as well, that has been a struggle too (I have the PT50B).

Thanks!

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the W.E. Forum JackStraw.