Advanced Search

Achieving an edge

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Specific Discussion Steel AUS-8 Achieving an edge

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Greg Kusmierek
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4

Hello all, I just received my Pro Pack 1 with the Pro Pack 2 upgrade yesterday. I did alot of research while waiting for my sharpener to come so I found out alot of the Do’s and donts. That being said I am a beginner, the sharpener arrived and my first knife I achieved had an excellent edge. This knife was a Calphalon katana kitchen knife. My second knife was a Cold steel Espada which did not go well at all.
    I checked the angles before I started, found the sweet spot and achieved a burr on both sides. I did notice that on one side the the edge was wider, which I Would believe that means the angle is different on one side.
    Anybody have any suggestions? Thank you in advance….
    Oh and by the way, I did check all screws for tightness throughout sharpening. Also, I can only sharpen the knife in the top holes because of the bevel angle and I did notice the clamp does not hold the knife very good, even with mohair taped to the knife.

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

I’m assuming from you’re opening statement that the stones are new, too. Don’t expect top shelf results until they’re well broken in. There’s a crust of diamond particle sitting on top of the base field of grit. These need to be knocked off before you’ll get really good results. Users generally say that it takes 5 -20 knives to break them in. Get some old clunkers are have at it. Use them to perfect your motions.

I recently had a case of a new pair of stones that seemed to be broken in, but when I sharpened my hardest blade, it chipped it all to hell. Turns out there were a few stubborn particles still to be knocked off. I resorted to stoning on a section of plate glass, which cleared the problem in minutes.