Advanced Search

So I just purchased a used WickedEdge gen 3 – Need help choosing accessories

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started So I just purchased a used WickedEdge gen 3 – Need help choosing accessories

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    HappyManny
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 3

Hi guys, I’m Manny and I’m new to the WE forums, and knife sharpening in general.

As the title suggests, I just purchased a WickedEdge pro gen 3 on Ebay. It is just the sharperner and base, with no abrasives included.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/172854501378

I figure that I will buy the abrasives that would come with the unit if it were new, as well as the 1200/1600 grit stones but what else would you guys recommend?

If you were in my shoes where you just bought a WE pro gen 3 for $350 shipped with no attachments (except a case) what would you buy to go with it, assuming that you intended to start a knife sharpening business.

Also, if I get the 12/1600 grit stones, which strop set should I get to accompany it? I’m thinking balsa with .25 micron and .125 micron sprays, but i’m not sure.  I have a budget of approximately $600 but i can stretch that a little if it will make an appreciable difference.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Anarchy84
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 61

Personally, I would avoid ceramics. As a relatively new user myself I don’t really see the point with the recent introduction of the 1500 grit diamond stone. My recommendation would be:

100-1500 grit diamond stones

2 sets of blank glass platens

Diamond lapping films (9, 6, 3, 1, 0.5 micron)

Kangaroo / balsa strop with emulsions or sprays

I have gotten incredible results on my Gen 3 Pro using this progression.

Just my two cents

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735