Advanced Search

Why is my knife slicing up my strop?

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping Why is my knife slicing up my strop?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Kyle
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 18

Im new to the wicked edge, just got it a few days ago. Did my first knife and it came out decent, but when i moved onto the strops i had a problem. The strop on the leftside keeps getting sliced up pretty bad by my knife everytime i make a stroke, the only time it wont slice it up is if i put it on 15 degrees. The right side doesnt do this though. Now one of my new strops is already sliced up because of this. Anyone know why this might be happening? Thanks for any help.

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570
    Steven N. Bolin
    Participant
    • Topics: 47
    • Replies: 456

If I understand correctly, 99% of the time there’s really only one cause to this problem – Coming back down directly onto the edge.

I’ve never had this be the cause, or know anyone who has, but maybe you left a substantial burr on the side that’s cutting into the strop as you trail along the edge.

Kyle
    Participant

This thread may help

https://knife.wickededgeusa.com/forum/5-stropping/8244-how-to-use-strops-i-keeps-slicing-them%5B/quote%5D

Thank you, sounds like i just need to work on my technique. Sounds like i need to do more of an upward stroke.

Steven N. Bolin
    Participant

ALL OF YOUR STROKES need to trail the edge – Up and away.

Strops are meant to polish the edge with the diamond compound working as an abrasive on a micron(s) scale.

I recommend starting at the heel and finishing at the tip until you get comfortable with the concept.

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

Be careful at the tip area of the knife. Easy to slice the strops there.

And as Knifeknerd stated, all strokes must be upward away from the edge, i.e. Edge trailing.

JS
    Participant
    • Replies: 109