Advanced Search

What am I doing wrong with my Micro fine ceramics?

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpener and Accessory Maintenance Ceramic Stones What am I doing wrong with my Micro fine ceramics?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Derek Williams
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

So I am pretty new to the WE product and love it. I have watched a ton of videos and have sharpened around 10 knives over the past week or so. Lets take a reprofile for this example and I am hoping someeone might be able to help me with what I am doing wrong.

Start with 100, create the bur just fine, then on thru to 1000. All is well and the edge looks great with my untrained eyes. Since I haven’t recieved my super fine ceramics I am using sandpaper, 1000, 1500, 2000 and finishing off with 2500. At this point the edge looks super viewing with a loupe. To me it’s just a great edge.

Here is where I must be doing something wrong. I go to the micro fine ceramics (course then fine) because I have them and figured it would only enhance what i already had to that point. This is were the edge, in my opinion, goes from very clean to no so good. Not sure how to describe no so good but it has way more scratches and only some areas that seemed to getting better. Just inconsistant. I then go to strops 5, 3.5 , 1mu and 0.5 mu and that recovers a bit, the edge i just seemed to degrade with the micro fine ceramics.

Last night I did the same process but skipped the micro fine ceramics, straigt to the strops and it was my best edge by far. Beautiful mirror and very sharp indeed. I could not find any flaws (like with the ceramics) but am new to this so someone else who is not a novice proably would have seeen several things they didn’t like. I was extrememly happy with the result.