Advanced Search

Sharpening on the go, best method?

Recent Forums Main Forum Off Topic Sharpening on the go, best method?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Saucier
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 30

I currently sharpen at home only with a Wicked Edge sharpener. Going away for a week, bringing a couple knives with me and want to know how you guys are sharpening while out and about? I have no hand sharpening experience. Looking for something quite portable that could go in a backpack.

Thanks for any info………:)

Sauce

Jed Bowen
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 57

The option of portability is tough as far as backpack size as the think weighs a lot. Clay came up with a carry case that is a great design and is already cut out for your WE and accessories. The other thing is that the base is 12″x12″ and the height is about 7″ tall. I break my WE down to transport it for now. I have a small Pelican 1450 case that I carry mine in for right now. I have a layer of foam on the bottom then put my base down with my vice jaws next to it with a pair of gloves. Then another piece of foam with stones in a Plano case with the arms and arm bar then another piece of foam over that with a cigar box with some goodies in it and the angel cube in it is box.
    My next step up is my Pelican 1510 carry on case with wheels and layed out like Clays design and see if I can attach a chair and my Rigid work stand and table.
    http://m1348.photobucket.com/albums/jethro1975/WE%20BreakDown/

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

I’d probably just take a few different knives and assign them tasks, from a beater knife to a razor edge.

The lansky or DMT guided systems might work for you.

Daniel Saucier
    Participant