Advanced Search

Noob here

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Noob here

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jon ONeall
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4

Hi, new here. I just picked up a used WEPS Pro Pack 1 (with extra ceramics & strops & a digital angle gauge) on USN. I don’t even have it yet, but will definitely be hanging out here trying to figure out how to use this beast! 🙂

I currently use the Spyderco Sharpmaker so the WEPS is a pretty big step up for me. Looking forward to learning here from the experts. Hope I can figure this thing out! 🙂

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

Welcome to the forum! Nice avatar.

I’m sure you’ll figure it out!! 🙂

Ken Buzbee
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 393

I’m sure you’ll figure it out!! 🙂

Agreed. There are a few tricks to learn but overall, it’s not rocket science. Just go slow. Start on some “practice” knives (not your $1,000 custom 😉 ) and you’ll be fine.

There’s lots of great information here but any questions that come up, just ask. We’re a pretty friendly lot and likely most of us have gone though whatever you run into.

Ken

Eamon Mc Gowan
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 513

Welcome! I’m in it a couple of months. There is a learning curve but I’m sure you will get through it okay. Like Ken said go slow and ask questions along the way. I was fooled by Clay when I first started and thought I should be moving faster? It turns out my style is a lot slower? But none the less I’m turning out Wicked Edge knifes!

Jon ONeall
    Participant

Thanks guys. I am sure I’ll have the usual learning curve. One advantage to buying used is at least the stones will already be broken in. 🙂

Geocyclist
    Participant
    • Topics: 25
    • Replies: 524

Welcome to the forum. :cheer: