Advanced Search

New, so hello and pimp my WE instantly

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat New, so hello and pimp my WE instantly

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Tomas
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 11

Hello forum,

Since I just recently signed up to this forum and received my WE unit just days ago it is time to introduce myself. I am Tom, knifenut since I joined the military some 20 years ago. Now working as a LEO for a large city in the Netherlands. I love all the different kinds of steel available. Especially Spyderco’s mule project is my favorite. Just recently I tried making my own knives out of O1 steel. I am a user, not a collector, let me be clear about that :dry: My main activity however in the knifeworld is leather. I build all kind of leather sheaths and pouches, but also belts, wallets and other leather handmade stuff.

I have been sharpening my knives for almost 20 years, started years ago with the Sharpmakerset of Spyderco. That set is still good IMHO. I added material over the years like diamond plates, waterstones, leather stroppingblocks and -wheels and more. Now I wanted something more sophisticated and after some research I chose the WE.
    I made myself a nice oak base, gave it a coat with Danish oil and also created a leather ‘hoodie’ to fixate the arms when the system is stored. The arms are fixed under a strap with a buttonsnap. The ‘hoodie’ also protects the aluminum vise.Enjoy the pictures. Well, here I am; time to start sharpening, right? :woohoo:

Xbander
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 68

Welcome to the Forum,

Looks like your ready to go. The leather cover on the vice is a new idea, looks good.
    James

DARRELL ALLEN
    Participant
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 113

nice job on the base, looks great……………..welcome to the forum. :cheer:

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687