Advanced Search

Mora Bushcraft Black

Recent Forums Main Forum Off Topic Mora Bushcraft Black

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Mikael Andersson
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 3

Hello I am new to Wicked Edge, today I cut my Mora Bushcraft Black 
    but I could not come in at the back of the shaft to the handle, is there anyone here who can give me any tips on how I can access that? 

this is the translators with Google Translate: (

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2

Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

That is a difficult area to get to. Some people will sand down the plastic platen in roger to get closer.

Keep in mind the the platens are wider than the stones to help protect your fingers from being cut while sharpening.

I usually don’t worry about those areas and leave them how they came from the factory.

Leo Barr
    Participant
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 812

cbwx34 suggested this for another problem
    That’s often caused by the edge “flaring out” where it connects at the heel, which will slightly change how the stone contacts. It’s hard to see in the picture, but after this happened, I cut a little “sharpening choil” in the blade with a dremel.

The choil I believe he means is to remove a semi circle between the handle removing the blade you can not reach if you do this do not overheat the metal grinding it out otherwise you will de- temper the blade.
    Shouldn’t the blade be a Scandi grind in other words no secondary bevel but the whole thinning bevel should be sharpened to the edge although I am told it will not hold an edge as well as if you convex that cutting bevel you have put on it .
    That Swedish steel is very good I like your knife.
    Refer to Clay’s tips for convexing the bevel

Mikedoh

In this case, LB, wouldn’t the choil need to be the same size as the difficult to reach area, and if so, what is the gain from that?