Advanced Search

Looking for hints from Chef’s and cooks

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Looking for hints from Chef’s and cooks

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Colin Povey
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 1

Greetings.

Just got a WE for my birthday. Yeah!

I have been sharpening things for many, many years, from my camping days as an Eagle scout, to my work in kitchens, to glassblowers knives (which are sharpened at 90 degrees-they are rectangular pieces of Tungsten Carbide).

I am a pro cook, and after sharpening my first knives to 1600, I find they are too smooth, too polished for most applications. I thought they might be, and proved myself right. Just like bread knives are serrated for a reason, I think that 1600 is too smooth for most chef knife use.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to a good starting (err, I mean stopping?) point for 8-10″ chef knives? I may continue to 1600 for some of my knives, like paring knives, but feel that I need to stop earlier for chef knives, filet knives, etc. I have the following stones: 100, 200, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1600. I am thinking that 600, 800, or maybe 1000 might be best, but was hoping someone has already done a lot of tinkering on this and has some advice! I know I sound lazy, but I do have a lot of things going at this time of year. I work for a catering company, and wedding season is soon upon us!

I am using 20 degrees as my sharpening angle. Any changes from that as well?

Steven N. Bolin
    Participant
    • Topics: 47
    • Replies: 456

Greetings.

I have been sharpening things for many, many years, from my camping days as an Eagle scout, to my work in kitchens, to glassblowers knives (which are sharpened at 90 degrees-they are rectangular pieces of Tungsten Carbide).