Advanced Search

Looking for a good Hunting Knife

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Looking for a good Hunting Knife

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    David
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 47

Hello all,
    I am helping a friend of mine buy a new hunting knife. I know AUS-8 Isnt a great steel but isnt bad either, and S30v has good edge retention but is hard to sharpen? I know Clay had mentioned one that he uses on the ranch that is a Browning, but I cant find it anywhere. I am no pro on steels or their properties so if anyone has any more knowledge than me please correct my mistakes. 🙂

Thanks,
    David

Scott Babineaux
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 80

You are going to have to give us more information.

How much does your friend want to spend?
    How large a knife?
    What style knife?
    Will it be used only for field dressing game or also as a camp knife?
    etc….

David
    Participant
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 47

I am trying to get some more information from him as far as that goes. I would say Less than $100, he currently uses a Buck 110. So I would think something similar just with a decent steel. I sharpened his Buck and he was able to skin his deer, and his Elk with it and not have any problems. But after I told him if he had a better knife he could go a lot farther he asked for my assistance. I will update it with more information as I get its.
    Also what is everyones experience with the 420HC, or 440c?

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687