Advanced Search

Introduction to Wicked Edge

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Introduction to Wicked Edge

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Andy Steffen
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 13

[Size=3]Hi all,

I just ordered a Pro-pack 1 setup so while I’m eagerly awaiting its arrival I thought I’d stop in and introduce myself. I’m fairly new to knives and definitely new to sharpening. In fact I’d venture the guess that I’ll be the least experienced guy on here for a little while. But I’m of the mind to do it right the first time rather than fiddling with the cheap sets and getting discouraged. 

Awhile ago I got a real nice set of Calphalon’s Katana series kitchen knives. Not necessarily the top option out there but still definitely nice enough that I want to treat them right, especially since many of the ones I got were discontinued. So I guess that will be my main utility for this sharpener, but certainly won’t be the only thing I’ll use it for. So the first bit of advice I could use would be what kind of angle would you guys recommend I start with? It’s Japanese VG-1 at the core, and according to the one and only bit of solid information I could find, they’re set at 22° from the factory, but this reviewer recommended going with 15°. Would you guys agree? Or somewhere in between.

And maybe more importantly, how does one find out the true hardness of a blade? I know the steel type is only one piece of the puzzle, but is the rest just guessing from the feel of them? These are great but a couple of them don’t seem to hold an edge quite like I would’ve expected.

Also, how smooth do you guys go with your kitchen knives? Leave a bit of tooth, like say stop after 800 or 1000 grit for the slicers? 1000+ stropping for choppers?