Advanced Search

How long do the stones last

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpening as a Business How long do the stones last

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Gary
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 8

I realize I just started a topic in this business category. If two is too many, I apologize. But in my defense, I am REALLY amped up right now for sharpening things….

How long are the stones and strops lasting you guys who have been sharpening for a while? One of the reasons I went with DMT diamond hones over waterstones is the DMT have a much slower (read “almost never”) wear rate. I have no doubt that waterstones could give me a better edge.

What are you all’s opinions based on experience with this issue? I know I can buy backups for all the stones, I’m just curious how often that might have to happen.

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

The diamond stones last very long. I’ve been using them for about two years now and they still work fine. The same applies to the ceramic stones. Waterstones do wear (Chosera’s more than Shaptons), but given their thickness you can still use them on a lot of knives. I’ve never bought replacement stones.

The leather strops work very long, too, if you use them properly. But I must say I’ve nicked a few of those… In that case the balsa strops are a bit stronger (but you can still nick them).

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Gary
    Participant

Thanks Mark. I’ve never tried Balsa. How many knives would you guess you’ve sharpened with your stones over the past two years?
    I really do want my system to last long enough to have my kids and grandkids fight over it…

Daniel maloon
    Participant
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 209

The stones should last very long. For your kids/grandkids is a stretch.

tuffy braithwaite
    Participant
    • Topics: 184
    • Replies: 360