Advanced Search

how do you sharpen your recurve ZT350 or ZT300?

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Specific Discussion Kershaw / Zero Tolerance how do you sharpen your recurve ZT350 or ZT300?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Scott
    Participant
    • Topics: 27
    • Replies: 121

I am a new knife owner and now have a ZT 350 and the ZT560 along with a number of other Shun kitchen knives and a bunch of less interesting knives. I have been following as many forums and youtubes as I could but I have not really found anything showing or detailing how to sharpen the recurve portion of the blade. I have ordered a WEPS with diamond grit flat stones up to 1000 grit and a flat fine ceramic stone, but I have ordered a pair of curved ceramic stones that are labeled 400 and 600 grit. Since I am new to this whole world, I am not clear on whether the ceramic 400 and 600 stones are going to be finer than the 1000 diamond grit stones. Would the round ceramic 600 stone leave a mirror finish or is it just going to be the same as if I used a 600 grit diamond stone (but curved)?

Sorry if this is considered a dumb question, but I am very excited in anticipation of getting this setup. I want to order the right stones and accessories for my knives.

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Good questions – first I think you’ll be able to sharpen both those knives with the flat stones since the curves aren’t very tight. Second, the 600 grit ceramic is similar to the 600 grit diamond though the diamond will be more coarse until it’s broken in.