Advanced Search

Hi from across the pond!

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Hi from across the pond!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Edward Macnair
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 4

Hi everyone,

I’m Ed from Hampshire in the UK.

I’m new to the Wicked Edge sharpener , received my kit a few days ago thanks to great service from Peter in Germany.
    Already picked up a tremendous amount of information from this site, thank you all!

Sharpened my first couple of knives yesterday. Great results, am very pleased with the WE. Bit puzzled that one bevel was steeper than the other side so I put an angle measuring device on the paddles and found a 2 degree variance. Anyone have any ideas why?

Help gratefully appreciated.

Bruce Guignard
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 15

It sounds like the knife might have been a little off center in the clamp. You’ll have to eyeball it but can probably check it with the angle cube.

Edward Macnair
    Participant

Thanks Bruce. Checked with Angle and when I set the right hand paddle at 15 deg, as marked on the WE, I need to set the left at 16 deg to get the same angle.

Is there supposed to be any movement in the jaws when clamped ? I can get the jaws to swivel slightly when the knife is clamped.

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Hi Ed and welcome. It sounds like you need to tighten the screw that attaches the Fixed Vise Jaw to the Base. You’ll have to remove the sharpener from the base and locate the screw under the Base Rod and give it a good tightening. Please let me know if that solves it.

Thanks Bruce. Checked with Angle and when I set the right hand paddle at 15 deg, as marked on the WE, I need to set the left at 16 deg to get the same angle.

Is there supposed to be any movement in the jaws when clamped ? I can get the jaws to swivel slightly when the knife is clamped.

-Clay

Edward Macnair
    Participant