Advanced Search

Butchered It – Your Advice? (with pix)

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started Butchered It – Your Advice? (with pix)

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    45ACP
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

I’m a newb at knife sharpening and it shows.  I butchered my Benchmade Griptilian.  I cut into the shoulder (right side shows more) and I have an inconsistent edge thickness from front to back.

So what did I do wrong?  I assume the knife was too far forward in the vice?  How do I correctly adjust for this?

Griptilian-Left-small
    Griptilian-Right-small

Attachments:
    cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

I wouldn’t call it “butchered”, and I think you answered your own question that it might have been set too far forward… but here’s a page that might help…

Finding the Sweet Spot – Positioning Your Knife from Front to Back

2 users thanked author for this post.
    45ACP
    Participant

Thanks.  I’m printing that diagram out and taping it to my workstation.

developer (ChrisB)
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 52
    • Replies: 263

Thanks. I’m printing that diagram out and taping it to my workstation.

Really Great

Working to make knife.wickededgeusa.com a great forum!

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Josh
    Participant
    • Topics: 89
    • Replies: 1672

Yep after you get it positioned correctly you will be all set!

45ACP
    Participant

I’m trying to correct my mistakes and perfect my positioning.  Bear with me if this gets long.  I shot a bunch of pix and tried to document my progress.  Let me know if I’m going about this the right way.

I felt I was getting close with the blade positioned at “A & 3/4” and the angle set to 16.05 degrees.
    Marker at the edge tells me the angle is too shallow and marker at the tip says the blade is too far back in the vise.  ….so it’s got to move forward and out.Griptilian_3_2-small