Advanced Search

Awaiting the Pro 11 bundle

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Awaiting the Pro 11 bundle

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Leo Barr
    Participant
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 812

I have been sharpening knives as a professional side line for a couple of years for bars, restaurants & luxury yachts.
    To date the principle tool has been an Edge Pro which is a great tool once it is further refined with a drill stop collar which allows for rapid adjustment allowing for different thickness stones & an angle cube I think anyone using this tool seriously need these additions.
    The cons of the system are that the blade can become scratched on the table it produces a lot of mess (black hands) and the stones often need to be flattened although all stones need this process.
    On a commercial basis if the knife needs any real work it takes around 20 minutes per knife and at between 5-8€ per knife this is just not enough of a margin considering wear on stones etc.
    It is a good system for scissors & odd blades so I shall still use it.
    I also use a Syderco for serrated blades such as Leatherman or bread knives.
    Another machine I use is a Tormek which I find is difficult to use for knives but is good for chisels or if a knife has a big hollow near the handle I use the black stone to remove the hollow and occasionally withe the Japanese stone wheel which is 4000 grit I will polish secondary bevels. The leather wheel is good for finishing a knife.
    I have also learnt to convex sharpen on a mouse pad with fine grit paper going up to 2000 although I have not found the finer stuff jewellers use .