Advanced Search

Any tips on Fillet Knives?

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Any tips on Fillet Knives?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Jeff
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Well its Salmon season up here in the Pacific Northwest. I have 2 kershaw Fillet knives that I’ve been using for fish. What would you guys recommend in terms of Angles, mounting, and finishing?

-I’ve been mounting them in the top location and sharping at 18*. I’ve found that the right side keeps getting caught up by the screw, any ideas?

Do you think I should mirror finish the blades or leave a bit of grit to it? I was thinking strop them and then hit them quickly with the 1k.

Any ideas or personal ways of doing fillets would be great!

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi jpar247,

Welcome to the forum!

I have little experience with fishing knives, so let’s wait until somebody chimes in who has more experience with them.

That said, if I don’t know how I want to finish a knife, I usually start around 20 degrees and I experiment a little. Knives made for meat usually benefit from a little bite (say, stop at 800 grit), knives made for veggies often benefit from a bit more polish. But this is highly personal. Do you use the knives for breaking the fish apart or mainly for making fillets?

If the stone is caught by the screw, position the knife high in the vise (top position, maybe even a little higher). If it is then still caught by the screw, increase the angle.

Enjoy your WEPS!

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

Eric Morgan
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 2