Advanced Search

Another new guy on the Edge

Recent Forums Main Forum Another new guy on the Edge

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Ed1955
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 2

I was given a Pro Pack II with the Gen III upgrade pack by my great friend who of course had to have the Gen III Pro.  I’ve been learning for about two months now and on a 1 to 10 learning curve I’m about a 6 and learning more everyday, especially with this forum.  To sum up what I’ve learned so far, I look at it in four stages:

1. Basic set up of the system
    2. Correctly clamping the knife
    3. Achieve wanted angle and cutting
    4. Polishing

Step 4 is where the psychosis comes in.  Getting a knife sharp is as easy as it can be for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve made a few green horn mistakes but learned from every one of them.  I never stop learning.  This is an expensive hobby in that you’re constantly wanting new knives winding up with a collection of jaw dropping examples you may never use but instead hand down to siblings.  Polishing can be maddening but what I’m trying to learn is to never go on to the next stone until I’m sure all of the scratches are from the current stone and not from previous heavier stones.  Correct me if this approach is incorrect please!  When I reach the ceramics (1200-1600) the blade comes to life and at one time I thought this is as polished as I could want which of course is where the real OCD starts.  I’ve used the .5 and 1.0 leather strops and paste and they do make a difference until you use magnification.  There are always previous scratches from previous stones or ceramics.
    Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated.  Don’t get me wrong, the level of polishing I have already acheived will absolutely blow the layman away but certainly not many of you folks.

Respectfully,

Ed1955

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760