Advanced Search

What strops should I buy?

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping What strops should I buy?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Justin D
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 4

howdy,

I’m still fairly new to the wicked edge and knife sharpening in general. I want to get some 5/3.5 micron strops to get a little better edge on my knives but I’m at a lose on with type to get. Can someone please let me know the difference between leather, balsa, and kangaroo leather strops and which one they recommend? Thanks for the help.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Anonymous
    Inactive
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 427

Lots of viewers to your post, but no help..

Here is a link to the strops. You can click on each to see their individual use and application. No one can tell you what you need.

https://www.wickededgeusa.com/product-category/strops/

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Mikedoh
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 570

I rarely strop. When I do, it’s with the leather and diamond paste that came with the PP2. Seems like the balsa ones have a following. I did a search on “strops”. Somewhere in the results, you might get your answer.

Recent

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

One does stropping to remove the final burr or to polish the edge a little further (with a stropping compound). A great thing about the WE diamond paste is that it not only abrades, but also seems to burnish the edge. Link