Advanced Search

using pastes and sprays on leather.

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpener and Accessory Maintenance Strops using pastes and sprays on leather.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Scott
    Participant
    • Topics: 27
    • Replies: 121

I read somewhere on a post by Clay that he only re-applies paste around every 50 or so blades. I have new leather strops and a variety of pastes. When I first used the paste, I am sure I applied too much, because I was wiping gobs of it off the edge of the blade repeatedly while stropping. But once I got the gobbed on paste off the blade, and the strop was no longer leaving rows of pasted on the edge, it seemed like there was no longer enough paste on the blade to achieve what it was designed to do. At best I don’t think I could do a large number of blades. I could be wrong on that, I am still learning.

I understand that there is a slickness to it when you first apply it and as it dries there is more friction which is what causes polishing or grinding. But, how do I achieve that without wasting too much paste? I tried applying the paste and not using it for a day or so to see if the drying would make it stay on the strop more, but it did not seem to work that way, I was still wiping excess off the blade. I only used about a 1 inch bead and spread it evenly over the leather surface with my finger. It didn’t seem like it was that much, and I could still see the leather through the paste. If I apply less it seems like it would be gone after the first few passes, so I need to find the right balance there.

I have no experience with pastes other than what I am learning as I go here. I did not see any good videos on just using the pastes and sprays and specifically what to expect as far as how much to apply and how long it will continue to work before re-applying more.