Advanced Search

Uneven bevel

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jason
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

I’m new to Wicked Edge on my v3 system.  I’ve really only worked on one knife so far and I’ve noticed that the bevel on this knife is slightly different on the right side vs the left.

Any other ways to clean up a mismatched edge and prevent that from happening again?

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome Jason.  Which system are you using?  Which vice does it have?  The WE120 and some others have the screw type clamp which inherently offsets the knife while clamping and will leave an uneven bevel if uncorrected for.  I see you wrote “v3” does that mean Gen 3?

To answer in general, an uneven bevel is usually due to one side having been worked on more than the other.  With time, effort, and attention the bevels will even out.  It doesn’t usually affect the sharpness or performance of the knife as long as your sharpening of either side bevel has been drawn all the way to the edge and both sides do come together at the apex, the tip of the edge.   Uneven bevel knives are common and ground intentionally in Japanese Chef’s knives and can enhance the knife’s performance.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

4 users thanked author for this post.
    Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Welcome to the forum Jason!

Everything Marc has said is correct. To even out the bevels you can spend extra time working only on the smaller side with your lowest grit until the bevels look symmetrical. Once this is done, the bevels should continue to be symmetrical through the rest of your sharpening process if you are working both sides of the blade equally. Alternating the strokes will ensure this is the case, but it’s not completely necessary.

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760