Advanced Search

Total blade noob here.

Recent Forums Main Forum Total blade noob here.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Tom Nikitas
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 6
    • I was given an L word kit by a gentleman who upgraded to a higher end WE.  My juices are flowing….maybe a WE in the future, I Love Precision being a retired toolmaker.

Honing oil, (don’t laugh) I know it floats the particles, keeps the pores free. (I used chalk on files to same end).  What’s wrong with a light, generic oil?

If I’d consider doing a small route of restaurant clients, what would be your best guess of $ charge and blade/length?

Contingent upon taxe return, may be in the mkt for a WE unit.  Whatcha got?

Basic questions, yes. I gotta start somewhere.

Best regards, Tom

• NRA Life ’76

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Welcome to the Wicked Edge forum!

I presume that the “L word kit” is a Lansky setup? I think any lightweight oil will work as long as it doesn’t have a tendency to go rancid (like many cooking oils do) and is food safe.

I don’t have a sharpening business, so I’m not really qualified to answer your question about pricing. Sharpening knives on a Lansky is a very slow process based on my experience with it. You would likely become frustrated with how slowly it works if you were trying to get through a stack of knives from a customer. There are several sharpeners who use Wicked Edge systems for a sharpening business. Hopefully one of them will see your thread and give you an answer on your pricing question.

Check out the thread with the 2018 Wicked Edge buyer’s guide if you’re trying to determine which model is the correct one to fit your needs.

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

One of the big reasons I decided to go with the WEPS was the fact that it uses diamond sharpening media.  No lubricant required.