Advanced Search

Strider Tanto Blades

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Elliott Brass
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Well, I am still fairly new with the WEPS, but I have a Strider SnG and SMF tanto that both need a new edge. Any tips or suggestions would be great. Anyone have a previous one they worked on that I can see? Thanks

Aaron kimpton
    Participant
    • Topics: 8
    • Replies: 155

Break it into two parts blade and tip. I am not familiar with that specific knife, I have done a few tanto’s. Two separate sharpening works well for me.

This is my pixie whisker shaver…..

JS
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 109

Yes, break it up into 2 portions. When doing the tip mount it parallel to the tops of the vise jaws. Yes your depth key will be useless here, but I believe this is by far the best way to sharpen a tanto on the WEPS. There is plenty enough clamping force to keep the blade steady.

I sharpen all tantoes this way and feel it’s the best way to keep the sharp transition between the main edge and tip.

Rick
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 54

I agree that seperating the blade into 2 parts is the best way to keep the defined yokote. I dont think we have a word for this in english, so I will use the Japanese terminology.

One trick I have use a few times, (at least while free handing) is to wrap a couple of layers of painters tape around the blade from the yokote to the tip in order to help keep the areas defined, then when I start working the tanto portion I will wrap a small portion of the blade from the yokote to the blade I have already sharpened to help me know where the defined line should be on both sides.
    Sorry for the huge pic, still trying to figuer out this photo bucket thing. I had taken a couple more example pics, but dont want to waste space posting such huge pics.

Steven N. Bolin
    Participant
    • Topics: 47
    • Replies: 456