Advanced Search

Steel for hunting knife?

Recent Forums Main Forum Knife Specific Discussion Steel Steel for hunting knife?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Josh-L
    Participant
    • Topics: 6
    • Replies: 13

I’m thinking about having a buddy of mine who makes knives make me a hunting knife.  In ya’lls experience what steel would be good for a small skinning/quartering knife?  I have zero knowledge on different steels and just got into sharpening.

MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

I would ask the knife maker what steel he uses for the hunting knife, or what choices he offers. Then let us know which steels he suggests.  I don’t think I’d want him to use something he may be unfamiliar with.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    sksharp
    Participant
    • Topics: 9
    • Replies: 408

Hey Josh, I like S30V for any knife personally but if your buddy is forging his own you want to go with what he recommends. If they are making a  knife from blanks he should be able to due what you want.  Most high carbon steel works very nice for hunters and have for a long time. I would ask your buddy.

Howie911
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 10

The Loveless folks use CPM154 Stainless according to their web site.  Once again the maker’s recommendation is probably best due to familiarity.  Not too soon to ask to see the finished product once created, is it?

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

I’ve made a few hunting knives and I use D2 exclusively, but only because I can harden it with a propane torch (using MAPP gas) without concerns for quenching, as it will harden when left to cool on its own.  Performance-wise, it works beautifully for me.  If I remember correctly, CPM154 requires cryogenic treatment.  Usually, that means sending it out for heat-treating.