Advanced Search

Side-to-Side “Wobble” – newbie here

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Side-to-Side “Wobble” – newbie here

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Adam
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

Hey folks, this is my first post here.  I’ve been using my WE120 for about a month and I’m loving it.  It definitely takes some trial and error,  but the edge I can put on my knives now is incredible!  I have a question for you.  With some knives, I have an issue with the blade not clamping properly and allowing “wobble” side to side.  What I mean is, where the spine is thicker than the edge (FFG knives, Spyderco Stretch, for instance), when the spine is clamped securely, the knife still wobbles back and forth a but because there is nothing holding the edge.  Has anyone come up with a fix for this?

Thanks

wickededge
    Keymaster
    • Topics: 123
    • Replies: 2938

Hi Adam,

I’m glad you’re enjoying your sharpener. FFG blades can be challenging in the standard vise, but it is possible with just a little work. Please check out this article on how to do it: https://support.wickededgeusa.com/portal/kb/articles/can-the-wicked-edge-sharpen-fully-flat-ground-blades. My personal preference for shimming the blade is Moleskin. I’ve been able to find it in a 1″ roll and I just cut 1/8″ strips from that to line the inside tops of the jaws.

-Clay

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Jeff
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 40

Another option that has worked well for me on distal tapered blades like a lot of Spyderco’s are is using a piece of soft leather chamois material between the blade and vise.  A soft sheepskin chamois can be found on Amazon for about $10 to your door.  Lasts years as you only need a small piece that can be used mutliple times.

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Brewbear
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 168