Advanced Search

Sharpeners and steels in a real life kitchen

Recent Forums Main Forum Suggestion Box Sharpeners and steels in a real life kitchen

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Roger Herbst
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 9

As a home cook, I have an interest in knife sharpening. I very much appreciate your well documented and scientific approach to sharpening…especially your microscope pics.

After getting all my knives to a polished razor edge, the joy of razor sharp slicing gives way to the reality of preparing daily meals. After a week or two, I re-examined the blades of my go-to knives (I have a $20 USB microscope, which is nowhere near the quality of yours, but is still a very helpful tool). Not surprisingly, there were nicks and edge-rolls. So comes the question – do I pull out a sharpening setup or give it a few strokes with a steel ?

The popular wisdom of a steel simply straightening the edge is complete BS from what I’ve seen. Mine aggressively removes metal, my angle control is imprecise and the previous precision angle-controlled polishing is pretty well torn up. That said, there is an improvement in cutting ability (though not as good as freshly sharpened), it’s quick and easy, and looks cool in front of dinner guests.

It would be great to see an analysis of what sharpening steels really do, with recommendations on when and how to use (or not) in a real world kitchen.

Roger

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Hi Roger,

Welcome to the forums and an intesting question you ask!

I have never actually tested what these rods do, so I cannot answer from personal experience. Hopefully there are people here who can. And since you have a microscope yourself, maybe you can try to see under the microscope what actually happens.