Advanced Search

Shapton Pros

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    John Brandeis
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

Hi,

I just purchased a very slightly (essentially brand new) used WE with ProPack 2 upgrade from a Kitchen Knife Forum. I’m excited to dive into the community here. I have a newbie set of questions to kick things off.

Here are the stones/strops that came with my system. Atoma 140/Shapton Pro 320 – Shapton Pro 1000/2000 – Shapton Pro 5000/15000 – Balsa 1/.5 micron – Kangaroo .25/.125 micron.

I’m brand new to WE and pretty new to sharpening. So, I imagine this set is way above my skis at the moment. But, I’ll get there. Here are my questions and I appreciate any guidance given. (I’ll be sharpening my kitchen knives, of which I have many, EDCs, and perhaps a straight razor or two.)

1) Isn’t the 5000/15000 paddle a pretty big jump? I’ve searched the forum and google and haven’t been able to find this particular progression mentioned anywhere.
    2) If I wanted to supplement what I have where would I buy the stones. They don’t seem to be offered here at WE. I suspect they were at one time??
    3) Any general advice for a newbie with this setup?

Thanks

Johnny

Leo Barr
    Participant
    • Topics: 26
    • Replies: 812

I have some Shapton glass bench stones and I jump from 8K – 16K essentially the 5K & 15K are honing stones and are really either for finishing 5K or for progression to razor honing .
    Clay has a link somewhere for razor sharpening using the WE .
    I believe the Shapton pros are closer to Choseras the glass are closer to ceramics .
    Jende Industries do Shap[tons for the WE
    http://www.jendeindustries.com/products/sharpening-products/shapton/category/143-shapton-weps-stones

John Brandeis
    Participant