Advanced Search

Shapton Pro Stones

Recent Forums Main Forum Suggestion Box Shapton Pro Stones

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    jayhwker01
    Participant
    • Topics: 5
    • Replies: 4

Hello,

I’ve ran across some shapton pro stones for sale. Does anyone recommend these? Or are they a headache to use?

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

jayhwer01:  I am a fan of Shapton Pro stones, mounted on Wicked Edge paddles.  I enjoy using them.  I think they are great. They are a true splash and go stones.  Just spritz them with a little water and have at it.  They don’t require you to make a mud slurry like Chosera’s do to get them to cut.  Shaption’s are like using W.E. diamond stones just with a water spray.  Shapton’s produce a very even regular, consistent, and predictable scratch pattern.  I believe since you use them slightly wet it cools and lubricates the steel you’re sharpening.  They work very well on expensive hard stainless steels.  I believe they help keep down steel chipping or micro-chipping, (seen with those steels sharpened with diamond stones), to a minimum, when you learn how to use them well.

That being said, the Shapton stones are a consumable sharpening stone.  They do wear and dish, as they are used.  To maintain flatness you will have to use a diamond lapping stone to smooth and level them every few sharpenings or when you see they require it.  Because you lap the stones, the softer lower grit Shaptons will wear quicker than the harder higher /finer grit stones, so with use the stones dimensions will change.  This requires you to be more attentive to your sharpening angles and adjust them with each shapton stone grit change.

Being a man-made ceramic sort of composite the Shaptons can break or chip if dropped.