Advanced Search

Rapala Knives

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Rapala Knives

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Doug
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 1

Will the Wicked Edge system work on fillet knives ?

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Yes, but you’ll probably need to work one side at a time while holding the handle to stabilize the flexible blade. There are after market modifications that you can rig up that will also help eliminate the blade flex on this type of knife.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    James
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 13

Hi Doug and Welcome to the group. I am very new with the Wicked Edged myself 3-4 weeks and less than 15 Knives on it, but happy with it. I by know means have mastered  it all but very pleased with the results I am getting. The first knife I sharped was a Old Hickory Butcher Knife  that had only been used for a small hatchet for last 15 year. I basically just went a head and started from scratch with it, it will shave hair well and cuts paper well considering 25 degree. Reminder my first knife and a pretty much junk just to learn, start to get a feel, and break stones in a little. Second knife was actually a Gerber Fillet knife I found in a junk truck, truly the dullest fillet knife I could imagine. lol but no joke there was NO Edge. I have the low angle adaptor but did not find it quiet as helpful as I had hoped for. A flimsy fillet knife 7.5 inch is a big step for a beginner like myself, careful mount slow and patient working one side at a time while trying to support the knife too. I have to say it turned out way better than I thought it would, actually decent knife now. I would have got some more practice and get my stone broke in good if was one of my better fillet knives. I like the Wicked Edge but wish it had a better adaptor for such knife, and also something better for smaller pocket knifes another challenge, but I am lo