Advanced Search

Preventing Micro chips while sharpening

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Preventing Micro chips while sharpening

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Trevor Riendeau
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

I’m new to sharpening and have only been doing it steady now for about a year or so. I have been sharpening numerous knives and can never seem to get a razor sharp edge. Every final edge that I seem to end up with always has micro-chips in the bevel. I was wondering if maybe I’m not cleaning the stones enough? Kind of hard to diagnose something online, but my patience is going to drive me mad if I don’t try to get some help. Any advice or follow-up questions would be great. P.S I did try to make a micro bevel to grind out the chips. My knife is a high carbon knife made from a file. The blade is about six inches long.

Attachments:
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum, Trevor.

It may help us, to help you, if you could provide some basics:

• W.E. Sharpener model?
    • Which stones are you using? (For example: the standard W.E. diamond stone set).
    • Which grits are you using for your sharpening progression? (Coarsest to finest).
    • Are you using any other sharpening or polishing mediums ? (Such as ceramics stones, strops and/or lapping films).
    • Which sharpening strokes are you using and in what order, or which direction, throughout your sharpening progression?

Are all the knives you sharpen chipping out, similarly, like shown in that photo.  Do you have any magnified edge views showing the results after each grit you use, in the progression?

Some steels are hard, brittle and may be chip prone. You wrote, “seem to end up with always has micro-chips in the bevel”.  Those results, “always”, I wouldn’t expect.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

Trevor Riendeau
    Participant
    • My model is the we130.