Advanced Search

Not Sure What I Should Buy

Recent Forums Main Forum Not Sure What I Should Buy

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Jess
    Participant
    • Topics: 2
    • Replies: 4

Hello, I’ve decided to pull the trigger on a Wicked Edge sharpening system, but I’m very confused on which system I should purchase. I’m at total newbie when it comes to sharpening (my only experience is with a Work Sharp). The way I plan to use my Wicked Edge is primarily to sharpen 4 of my high-end Benchmade knives (one of them is S90v steel). I will also use it to sharpen several lower end filet and boning knives I use for butchering animals. I have several questions that I’ve listed below.

Which Model – I’m torn between the Wicked Edge Go, the WE100, WE120, and the WE130. My initial desire is to go with the WE130 because it sounds like the best. However, it’s significantly more expensive than all the other models I’m considering. Is the added cost simply because of the camlock vise, or are there other significant improvements over, say, the WE120? I have read that the cheaper models are more difficult to clamp a blade in and make sure it stays perfectly vertical (and doesn’t move) while sharpening. I also read that the WE130 takes care of that problem. Is that true? I’m willing to pay the extra cost for the WE130 if it really is that much better, but for my intended purposes is there a cheaper model that will be perfectly satisfactory for my needs? I looked online at the “Buyers Guide” page, but I still don’t really understand the pros/cons between the Go, WE100, WE120, and the WE130. Is one really that much better than the others? Could you please help me understand?