Advanced Search

Newbie Strop Help

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping Newbie Strop Help

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Jordanzwon1
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Hello all! I am a hobbyist knife maker and am brand new to WE.  I just got a WE100 as I thought it would be good to refine the edges on certain grinds before sending to customers.  Specifically any knife I make with a secondary bevel.  Most my knives are bushcraft / hunting knives so no need for a mirror finish, however I would like a polished finish. I need help picking out with strop set / compound I need….the micron terms confuse me.

here is what I have:

100/200 diamond stone

400/600 diamond stone

800/1000 diamond stone

1500/2200 diamond stone.

I don’t believe I need to go much higher than that but would like to end with a strip to refine the edge.  What is the next strop progression you think I should get?

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Jordanzwon1
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Hello all! I am a hobbyist knife maker and am brand new to WE. I just got a WE100 as I thought it would be good to refine the edges on certain grinds before sending to customers. Specifically any knife I make with a secondary bevel. Most my knives are bushcraft / hunting knives so no need for a mirror finish, however I would like a polished finish. I need help picking out with strop set / compound I need….the micron terms confuse me. here is what I have: 100/200 diamond stone 400/600 diamond stone 800/1000 diamond stone 1500/2200 diamond stone. I don’t believe I need to go much higher than that but would like to end with a strip to refine the edge. What is the next strop progression you think I should get?

Sorry I meant strop not strip

MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

Welcome to the Wicked Edge forum Jordanzwon1,