Advanced Search

Newbie from SoCal

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Newbie from SoCal

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Hutch
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

Hello everyone! Newbie here from SoCal with a few questions.

Santa was nice and dropped off a WE50 for Christmas. I want to sharpen some of my kitchen knives using the 600, 800 and 1,000 grit stones.

1. I realize the importance of creating a burr. If I create one using the 600 grit stone and then change stones, do I have to create a new burr each time I change stones or am I basically refining the original burr?
    2. Touchups – What is the proper procedure for touchups? Do I recreate a new burr, or do I simply sharpen what is already there? What stones should I use for touchups?

Thanks in advance for your help. You can obviously tell I’m a newbie by the questions, huh? But I figured I would risk sounding dumb and get the answers from the pros.

James
    Participant
    • Replies: 13

You will get different answers from different people. Some like to raise a burr with every grit, some skip pulling a burr like every other grit. It is mainly to ensure that you are reaching the apex. On touch up I still raise a burr with first grit I start with usually 800 or 600 depending on condition of blade. Some will chime in with more advise I am no professional. I have realized some have different methods especially those with more experience. Welcome to the forum by the way.

3 users thanked author for this post.
    Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

You only need to raise a burr once during the sharpening of a knife. It doesn’t hurt to raise a burr again during the sharpening process (aside from a tiny quantity of unnecessarily removed blade stock).