Advanced Search

Newb DLF question

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  tcmeyer 10/08/2018 at 2:13 am.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Aaron
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1

So I’m a newb, I’ve had my WE130 for about 2 weeks now with diamond stones 100-1000. I’ve finally got my technique down and am getting some decent results but want to take it another step. So I am looking at the 1500 diamonds and either 3 or 6 micron DLF. My question is which should I go with, the 3 or the 6 micron? From reading here the 6 seems most often recommended after the 1500s but it seems counterintuitive to me. It seems to me that diamond stones and DLF are both hard diamond substrates so it’s pretty apples to apples, not like going from diamonds to strops so stepping back doesn’t make sense. If the 1000 diamonds are 7 micron as WE says, I would expect the 1500s to be in the 3-5 micron range so the next logical progression would be 3 micron DLF. So why does everyone go to 6 micron after the 1500s? Am I missing something ? Thanks!

MarcH
    • Topics: 52
    • Replies: 1334

Hello Aaron, welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum and community.  What you say is correct.  It is counterintuitive.  Yes, it’s common practice to step back a grit or so when switching abrasive mediums in your sharpening progression.  Each medium substrate is different with different scratch pattern characteristics.  So your understanding is correct, that both the diamond stones, 1500 grit, and the 6µ DLF are hard diamond abrasive particles of a similar particle size, but being that they are different mediums these similar size particles are mounted or imbedded into the base substrates differently.  Their spacing and their density differ leading to different scratch pattern characteristics, (i.e., scratch width and depth).