Advanced Search

New WE user

Recent Forums Main Forum New WE user

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Photog200
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 2

I just received my WE Pro II sharpener yesterday.  I have already sharpened several knives and have been getting quite good results.  I have been doing most of my sharpening by hand on Japanese wet stones.  I got so I was getting “OK” results.  I wanted to get a more professional and consistent bevel so I decided on the WE system.  I can see where I have much to learn but already have been getting good results.

I do have a question though.  Since I came to this system from using wet stones, I was use to getting more polished edges than I can get with just the 1000 grit stones with the WE Pro II.  I have never used ceramic stones before for sharpening, should I go with the ceramic or the wet stones for the WE system?  I would like to take the sharpening to the next level and could use the advise for the next step.

Randy

cbwx34
    Participant
    • Topics: 57
    • Replies: 1505

I haven’t used them, but I believe that some members who polished with ceramics or waterstones have switched to using the diamond lapping film and describing better results.  The ceramics will give a decent polish, although not quite a ‘mirror’.  There’s also the option of leather strops… that’s originally what most of the polished edges were made with.

You might take a look at This Thread for some info… maybe get some ideas from it.

3 users thanked author for this post.
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

Welcome to the forum! I hope you enjoy your WEPS.