Advanced Search

New system

Recent Forums Main Forum Getting Started New system

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    -Terry
    Participant
    • Topics: 10
    • Replies: 27

Hey all,
    <p style=”text-align: left;”>I’m new to wicked Edge, and fairly new to sharpening. I just received my new Gen 3 Pro system today, and can’t get a sharp edge on my pocket knife. By this, I mean, I can sort of shave with it, but can’t slice paper. Is this just because the stones are still new? I’ve used this knife as my sharpening guinea pig on a few different sharpening methods ( Lansky, flat stone, SharpMaker), I did reprofile it with the new system today to even out the angles, by getting my wire edge on both sides with a 100-200, then working my way up in grits from there. Maybe like 50 strokes per side per grit. Is this simply due to break in period? I admit I have a lot to learn, but gotta start somewhere. Thanks</p>

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the W.E. Forum “-Terry”.

Time and time again new users ask this same question and report these same results and sharpening experiences.  It’s a combination of new, unbroken-in stones and more so, your inexperience and lack of a W.E. sharpening technique.  There is definitely a break-in period for the stones.  When the stones have broken in they will yield better results…

But, that is only after you learn what you are doing and how to use the W.E. properly.  There is a definite learning curve to what it takes to sharpen a knife well with a Wicked Edge Sharpener.  Take this time while your stones are breaking in, read on the forum, ask questions and view lots of YouTube videos and videos in the W.E. “Knowledge Base”, (upper right) to help you to put it all together to learn what works for you.  Give time time.  Enjoy the journey.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

2 users thanked author for this post.
    -Terry
    Participant