Advanced Search

New from Michigan

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat New from Michigan

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Bob
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 8

<p style=”text-align: right;”></p>
     Hello everyone, bought a WE 130 last week, what fun!  I have been sharpening knives for many years, but never with the consistency,  and attention to detail that the WE provides.

I sharpen some knives that I had laying around the house, and realize I need to buy the low angle adapter.  I can tell already that WE is going to be like  heroin.  I’m sure I’ll be buying new stuff every week.

I do have a question about sharpening Chinese vegetable cleavers. 8 inches long 3 inches deep and a tad over 16th thick.

When I clamp them in the vice there is still a lot of wiggle.  I’ve just tried to hold the opposite side I’m sharpening to keep it from moving, But I’m hoping there’s a better solution. Thanks

1 user thanked author for this post.
    MarcH
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2733

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum, Bob.  Can you post a picture showing us how you’re clamping the Cleaver, and possible the portion of the cleaver your clamping?  I have not had any knives wiggle in the WE130 jaws.  I wrap a small rectangle of real leather chamois up around the knife spines, covering both sides, before I clamp it in the vice.  The chamois does a couple things.  It protects the knife steel from scratching and allows for a better clamping purchase on the knife.

Bob can you describe for us how you are positioning the cleaver in the jaws? How deep or shallow? Are you able to determine where the wiggle is?  Is it the jaws wiggling or the cleaver in the jaws?  Have you adjusted the tension lever and tried different settings?

Do the clamped jaws, empty, without a knife in them, wiggle?  Did any other knives show signs of movement?  Any additional details are appreciated.

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

Bob
    Participant