Advanced Search

my opinion of the super fine after 3 days with it.

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Abrasives my opinion of the super fine after 3 days with it.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Scott
    Participant
    • Topics: 27
    • Replies: 121

As most who have followed my posts know I am new to WEPS but I have made a serious commitment to succeed and enjoy the process of using it. I ordered the PP2 about 8 weeks ago and took delivery about a week or so ago. I have asked a bunch of questions prior to receiving it and subsequent and as a result have continued to add to my arsenal of stones and strops since getting it. My most recent acquisition was the super fine ceramic, which I just got Friday (a couple of days ago).

I was happy with it and also unhappy with it at the same time. What I mean by that is that it definitely does bridge the gap between diamond 1000 grit and ceramic micro fine and changes the grit in a perceptible way to a more fine pattern. That is the good. What I didn’t think was great was the feel and texture of it. It sort of felt less refined than the finest diamond at 1000 grit and the very glassy smooth heavy micro fine ceramic. The super fine feels a bit soft and light like it wasn’t fully cooked in the kiln or something, at least compared with the other excellent stones I was sent.

So having said all that, I think it really does serve the intended purpose of smoothing the scratches to allow the much finer micro ceramic stone to do it’s job of polishing, but I still can’t help but wonder if the 5k/10k Chosera stone might not do the job even better or perhaps the Chosera 2000/3000 which is the next step up from the 1000 according to the grit scale.

I can’t seem to get a clear answer from anyone and just measuring grits seems to be a bit misleading because the different types of stones seem to get different results at comparable grit levels.