Advanced Search

Micro Bevel How To

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Micro Bevel How To

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Geocyclist
    Participant
    • Topics: 25
    • Replies: 524

How do you create a micro bevel, how many degrees per side more?  Starting grit and progression?  Number of strokes?  Do’s and Don’ts?

I just sharpened a Wusthof kitchen knife to 17 dps to 1000 diamonds.  I did the whole knife, primary and micro bevel using edge trailing/tip to heel strokes.    It was pretty sharp, sliced news print cleanly.  I did a micro bevel at 22 dps.  I did 6 strokes per side with 400 diamonds then 4 with the 600’s.  It won’t slice news print without snagging.  What did I do wrong?  I have sharpened this knife before and touched up as well and never had problems with just a single bevel.  This is my first time doing a micro bevel.

Alan
    Participant
    • Topics: 15
    • Replies: 206

Thanks for the post, Geo.  I could use some schooling on this subject as well.  I’ve had the same results as you, with the micro bevel, the knife isn’t as sharp.  I must be doing something wrong…

Merry Christmas, everyone!

Alan

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

When I do a micro bevel on a kitchen knife, I do things pretty much the same, but I polish the primary (17 dps) bevel much higher, with strops or film.  This reduces surface friction doing the slicing process.  Then I put on a much smaller microbevel.  Maybe three very light, alternating strokes with 1000 grit stones.  More will just turn your microbevel into a minibevel.