Advanced Search

Kangaroo Leather Strops Pack

Recent Forums Main Forum Stropping Kangaroo Leather Strops Pack

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Larry
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 5

I just purchased the Kangaroo Leather Strops.  Which spray is recommended for the strops?

Im new to the Wicked Edge and am in the process of learning, there is a lot to learn.

Thanks

Larry
    Participant

I see Micron Polycrystalline Diamond emulsion & Micron Diamond Spray which one?  I see 4 Micron to .25 Micron.

1 user thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edge Forum , Larry, any or all of the diamond stropping products can be used with any of the stropping mediums.  The difference, I understand, between the Kangaroo leather and cow leather is the kangaroo is thinner and stiffer.  It gives or compresses less under stropping pressure. Those guys using the Kangaroo suggest you only need to reduce the stropping angle 1º less than the sharpening angle was set.  As opposed to 1.5º to 2º less is recommended for cow leather.  If I only had one pair of strops I would go with the 4µ, 2µ diamond emulsion sprays.  I like the feel of the diamond emulsion stropping compound.  It applies easily and stays on well.

Even though the product is called a spray it doesn’t really spray on the leather.  I touch the spray tip right against the leather and squeeze it to leave a dollop of emulsion.  Three or four spots of the spray can be spread across the entire length of the strop.  Rub the two similar grit leather strops together to spread the emulsion across the hole thing.

Be sure to wipe clean the sharpened steel knife prior to stropping to help keep the strop clean of sharpening debris. Remember to strop only in an up and off stroke. That’s called edge trailing stroke so as not to cut the leather.