Advanced Search

Introduction

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Robert Huffman
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 8

Hello all,

This is a forum for double reed players to raise questions and share tips and experiences with others in the double reed community.

By way of introduction, I am an oboist and I retired last year from The U.S. Army Band, “Pershing’s Own” after 33 years. Just last year I discovered Wicked Edge and after a lifetime to knife sharpening being the bane of my existence, I now enjoy razor sharp knives consistently. This system has made a huge difference in my reed making!

I studied with Earnie Harrison at LSU and then later with Don Hefner and Gene Montooth for graduate studies at The Catholic University in Washington, D.C. Since then I have studied with Cindy de Almeida and Jonathan Blumenfeld. More recently I have studied also with Shea Scruggs and Chris Philpotts.

For sharpening knives – I use 21 degrees on the left side and 23 degrees on the right side. I use the diamond stones 100-1000, ceramic stones (1200/1600 grit) and finish with the 5µ and 3.5µ strops. For touching up the knife I go back to the ceramic stones and then the strops. For creating an edge for scraping bark and starting a reed – I use an older knife and sharpen only to either 600 or 800 grit and the use the strops.

Please feel to introduce yourselves to our community and let us know what you have learned.

Leo James Mitchell
    Participant
    • Topics: 64
    • Replies: 687

Hallo Robert! Willkommen hier! It is good to have another reed player on our forum…as far as I know, you, Tom and I are the only ones. However you are the only double reed player since Tom and I play clarinet, he much better than I! 😉
    I look forward to hearing more of your sharpening experiences as well as some of your oboe playing anecdotes. By the way, I guessed you spoke German. Was I right?

Mit freundlichen Grüßen/Best regards
    Löwe/Leo