Advanced Search

In the kitchen for touch-up: strop or stone?

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Task Specific Knife Sharpening Cooking In the kitchen for touch-up: strop or stone?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

As a home cook I have a leather strop in my kitchen. Simple leather glued on wood. The strop is covered with 1 micron stropping spray (I like it a bit finer than most people). Before every use of a knife, I strop it.

My rational mind says I should use a stone instead (like a Chosera 5K or 10K stone) for this purpose. A leather strop has pliability, one can inadvertedly round an edge, … A stone simply has more advantages.

But… I still cannot get myself to use a stone in the kitchen. Is this pure emotional attachment or do you think there are also good reasons to use a strop instead of a stone? And what do you use?

Molecule Polishing: my blog about sharpening with the Wicked Edge

tcmeyer
    Participant
    • Topics: 38
    • Replies: 2095

I had been doing the 15 or so kitchen knives on the WEPS, taking them to 800 or 1000 stones. This last weekend I did the whole batch on my buffing stand. A single pass on each side first on my 600 grit wheel, then a single pass on my 4 micron diamond (Ken Schwatrz) wheel. Where there were visible dings and nicks, I take a couple more passes on the 600. With my double-ended buffer, I can do a knife like this in about 30 seconds. I looked at the edge on one of them with my 50X USB camera and it looks very toothy. I think the result is very much like the edges you get with the Worksharp Knife & Tool rig. Toothy to bite into whatever needs biting and the polish to remove the friction-causing scratches.

I don’t think the polish is the equivalent of stropping, but you asked what we do with our kitchen knives.