Advanced Search

I would starve to death if I did this for a living

Recent Forums Main Forum Sharpening as a Business I would starve to death if I did this for a living

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive
    • Topics: 14
    • Replies: 427

I’mm no pro but I have been gifted with good hands and an analytical mind. IN short order I have been able understand the sharpening process used to make a ver impressive edge on many different knives.

I spent 8 hours sharpening 12 knives, I spent 30 minutes cleaning my stones, strops, and ceramics. The 12 knives I sharpened are so sharp I’m almost afraid to touch them, they are that good. **** But ***  If I even charged 10 dollars a knife, that would only be 120 dollars for a days work. Hardly what I would call a living. I have no idea what people are willing to pay to have a knife sharpened. When I retired from General motors as a design engineer 15 years ago I was making 50 dollars an hour. Did not  get paid by the hour but was making 2000 a week+ bonus.

Right now sharpening knive is fun… I would not want to turn fun into a four letter word  ( W O R K ).

Right now the feedback I get for successfully sharpening a knife to extreme sharpness, is worth the effort it takes in doing so. I don’t mind spending 30 minutes to 45 minutes making a wicked edge. IM actually afraid that if I touch a sharpened knife ever so lightly and I move my finger slight , Ill be cut.. it actually happened with the first knife I sharpened using the wicked edge… I didn’t even know I was cut until the blood started gushing.

Bill aka ET

Mark76
    Participant
    • Topics: 179
    • Replies: 2760

I did this not for a living. But for fun. About 40 knives a week (all with the weps) and I really enjoyed it.

After some time the “zen” went off it a bit, but knife sharpening is still a hobby of mine. Even though it I now only do it for friends and family.