Advanced Search

Help with tip sharpening. Trying not to blunt the tip

Recent Forums Main Forum Techniques and Sharpening Strategies Help with tip sharpening. Trying not to blunt the tip

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Jarrod Raley
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 0

hey guys I’m new to this and am about to take the plunge and buy the pro system and several add ons.  I have watched pretty much all the vids I can find and I am now looking elsewhere for info.

I am seeing people using the WE and they are using these strokes that “fly” off the end of the knife at the tip while sharpening.   I thought that this would make the top of your knife blunt and ugly ?         What are the best methods for keeping that tip nice and pointy and very sharp?

the other question I have is about clamping the knife. In other systems I have seen and heard knowledgeable people talk about drawing a line from the heel of the blade to the tip and using that to help you get the knife in a position where the bevel will not get wider towards the tip as you sharpen the knife.      The vids I have seen with the WE it seems that almost no attention is given to the clamping position.  They just put the knife into the clamp with the spine parrelel to the table or platform they are using and they go to town.    Please help!  I just want to get it right.  I have high end custom knives that I’m looking to really put some killer edges on and I do not want to use strokes that will blunt the tip or clamp the knife I correctly and have a big wide bevel near the tip.     Thanks for your help!

Organic
    Participant
    • Topics: 17
    • Replies: 929

Welcome to the forum Jarrod!