Advanced Search

help with sharpening techniques

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Howard Schwartz
    Participant
    • Topics: 4
    • Replies: 5

i am a newbie, and i have several questions.

after switching stones, do you check the angle each time?

after switching stones, do you create and check for a burr each time?

i have read that several backward strokes at the end of each grit improve the sharpness. is this recommended?

thanks.

airscapes
    Participant
    • Topics: 19
    • Replies: 367

Hi Howard, folks will be along for greater details but I can tell you what I do as there is no wrong way, if your outcome is what you wanted.

Yes, I check the angle with each stone change.  Just raise the stone stop so the stone is centered on the blade and verify you angle is still as it was previous.  Don’t lean on the table or move the base as it will change the reading.

After switching grits I go back to light scrubbing strokes and raise a bur on each side.  I continue doing this for several passes then switch to alternating edge leading strokes (stone comes down on the bevel as  you move it forward).   I do not try and start at the heal and do one stroke that goes the length of the knife as you see in videos, I do multiple overlapping strokes for a consistent scratch pattern

I do not alternate directions.  Some folks do some don’t..  like sanding a piece of wood, making scratched cross the previous scratches will make it even harder to remove  when going to the next finer grit in my opinion.

This video shows good technique and helped me establish a process that works well for me.  Like I said everyone has their own take on this..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RrvnZRVc-I

4 users thanked author for this post.
    NorCalQ
    Participant
    • Topics: 54
    • Replies: 149