Advanced Search

HELP

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 3

I will start off by saying I am brand new to sharpening, so I know little to nothing. Have a WE130. I have sharpened to date  about ten knives with reasonable descent success. My neighbors brought over some Chinese made Calphalon Knives. I found the angle fairly quickly. (seemed low at 14 degrees)

As I continued the process I absolutely could not get a bevel. Started with 600 grit stones and went down to 100 grit. Could not detect any type of bevel. Can’t figure out what I am doing wrong. All of the marker comes off indicating to me I am close to the proper angle but no matter how many strokes, no bevel. Any words of wisdom other than taking up basket weaving. My thanks.

<h1></h1>

Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome to the Wicked Edfe forum, Mark.  After 10 knives I’d expect you have a basic understanding of what it takes to sharpen a knife.  Also your sharpening stones should be reasonably well broken in.

You wrote you could not get a bevel….I’m guessing you’re meaning you can’t form and feel a burr.  You probably just haven’t removed enough steel yet.

I’d suggest you reset your sharpening angles to 20 degrees per side.  This wider angle will place your sharpening efforts more towards the knife’s edge.  This should allow you to apex the knife edge and form and feel the burr more easily.  Once you can feel the burr has formed, you can lower the sharpening set angles by 1 or 2 degrees each adjustment.  After forming and finding the burr again, with this lowered angle, re-adjust it, lower again.  This will allow you to walk the angle down to the 14 degree setting you originally guessed or determined it to be.