Advanced Search

Hello All

Recent Forums Main Forum Welcome Mat Hello All

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Wayne
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 5

I’m a retired chef with 30 years in white tablecloth restaurants, including two of my own. Using knives as part of my daily activities is ingrained. Regretfully, I never became proficient at freehand sharpening. I achieved only passable toothy edges on my (mostly Wusthof) work horses. I almost always had a Norton Tri-Stone around.

For a couple of years now I’ve collected a dozen and a half of better folders and custom fixed blades. Production knives, mid-techs, and customs. I exclusively used a Sharpmaker during this time. I wouldn’t dare try to sharpen them freehand for fear of scratching polished blades. It’s worked pretty well but once I learned about guided systems I soon jonesed for a Wicked Edge system.

My main exposure so far to better knives, better steels, and better sharpening techniques has been on BladeForums. I particularly want to thank 000Robert for directing me here.

I received a WE Pro-Pack III this week and have been begun to learn how to use it. Reading threads here has already been very helpful in getting started. I have a few tool steel carbon blades around to hopefully become proficient on before tackling my expensive folders and custom fixed blades.

Thanks for the community.

— Wayne

• This topic was modified 3 years, 7 months ago by Wayne.
    1 user thanked author for this post.
    Marc H
    • Topics: 74
    • Replies: 2735

Welcome Wayne

Marc
    (MarcH's Rack-Its)

Dwight Glass
    Participant
    • Topics: 0
    • Replies: 89

Wayne I am glad you are with us. If you reach past the tip of the knife — move your hand a way from the knife as you bring your arm back. Safety first.

2 users thanked author for this post.
    Bob
    Participant
    • Replies: 8

Welcome Wayne, you’re gonna love your pro pack

000Robert
    Participant